Sao Tome and Principe Visa Application Guide

Visa Policy of Sao Tome and Principe

In accordance with the law, citizens of all countries require a visa to visit Sao Tome and Principe. However, there are few exemptions.


  • Holders of diplomatic or official passports of the following countries can visit Sao Tome and Principe without a visa: Angola, Mozambique, Cabe Verde, Brazil, Portugal, Guinea-Bissau and Equatorial-Guinea.
  • Holders of normal passports issued to nationals of Taywan and Angola who are going on holiday or are attending conventions are allowed to stay in São Tomé and Príncipe of up to 15 days without visa.
  • Citizens of EU member countries and the United States of America who are valid passport holders are also allowed to stay without a visa in the country for a period of no more than 15 days. 
  • The same visa-free entry and stay for the same amount of time is granted to citizens of any other country provided that hold a passport that is valid for more than three months and a valid Schengen or US visa.


Visa applications should be made at an Embassy or Consulate of São Tomé and Príncipe. Passports must have a validity of 12 months. The visa is usually valid for a single entry within 90 days of the date issued, for a stay up to 30 days. A tourist visa can be extended once for an additional period of 90 days. 


Foreign citizens from countries or geographic areas where there is no diplomatic or consulate representation of São Tomé and Príncipe may apply online for an e-Visa Entry Permit directly from the Migration and Borders Service, using eVisaST website.

Please download the visa application kit you need below:


  • Sao Tome and Principe Visa Application Kit - New York, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA




  • Sao Tome and Principe Visa application kit - Taipei, TAYWAN